2022 Gotham Award Winners

The 2022 Gotham Awards were held tonight, officially kicking off award season! The Gotham Awards are a first stop in the awards season marathon, especially for lower budget films that are looking to break into the Oscars race. While there is no overlap with voters between the Gothams and the Academy, the award show is a great way to create buzz ahead of the precursors.

The Gotham Awards must meet some criteria to be eligible. Films cannot exceed a gross budget ceiling of $35 million. The contending films must be American, except for the Best International Feature and the Best Documentary category. It is also worthy to note that the Outstanding Lead Performance, Breakthrough Performance and Outstanding Supporting Performance are all gender neutral categories. Michelle Williams (The Fabelmans), Adam Sandler (Hustle), and the cast of Fire Island received tribute awards.

Check out the full list of film winners:

Best Feature
“The Cathedral”
“Dos Estaciones”
“Everything Everywhere All at Once” – Winner

Best Documentary Feature
“All That Breathes” – Winner
“All the Beauty and the Bloodshed”
“I Didn’t See You There”
“The Territory”
“What We Leave Behind”

Best International Feature
“The Banshees of Inisherin”
“Decision to Leave”
“Happening” – Winner
“Saint Omer”

Outstanding Lead Performance
Cate Blanchett (“TÁR”)
Danielle Deadwyler (“Till”) – Winner
Dale Dickey (“A Love Song”)
Colin Farrell (“After Yang”)
Brendan Fraser (“The Whale”)
Paul Mescal (“Aftersun”)
Thandiwe Newton (“God’s Country”)
Aubrey Plaza “(Emily the Criminal)” 
Taylor Russell (“Bones and All”)
Michelle Yeoh (“Everything Everywhere All At Once”)

Outstanding Supporting Performance
Mark Rylance (“Bones and All”)
Brian Tyree Henry (“Causeway”)
Ke Huy Quan (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”) – Winner
Raúl Castillo (“The Inspection”)
Gabrielle Union (“The Inspection”)
Nina Hoss (“TÁR”)
Noémie Merlant (“TÁR”)
Hong Chau (“The Whale”)

Breakthrough Performer
Frankie Corio (“Aftersun”)
Kali Reis (“Catch the Fair One”)
Gracija Flipovic (“Murina”) – Winner
Anna Diop (“Nanny”)
Anna Cobb (“We’re All Going to the World’s Fair”)

Best Screenplay
Kogonada (“After Yang”)
James Gray (“Armageddon Time”)
Lena Dunham (“Catherine Called Birdy”)
Todd Field (“TÁR”) – Winner
Sarah Polley (“Women Talking”)

Breakthrough Director
Owen Kline (“Funny Pages”)
Elegance Bratton (“The Inspection”)
Antoneta Alamat Kusijanovic (“Murina”)
Beth De Araújo (“Soft & Quiet”)
Jane Schoenbrun (“We’re All Going to the World’s Fair”)
Charlotte Wells (“Aftersun”) – Winner

Search for a Topic

Would you like to contribute to write on the site or join the team? Find our info on our Team page!

%d bloggers like this: